The Stages of Moving

Hello!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! (overly enthusiastic much)

Hey guys and today we’re going to be going through Moving 101 *cues sad, dramatic music*

I’ve moved a couple of times before (schools, states, countries) so I feel like I’m in a pretty good position to be writing a freaking tutorial/explanation of how moving works.           So ya here are the different stages of moving! (I need to stop saying “so ya”.  I say it at least once in most of my blog posts ^-^)

Shock: Every time I move, I go through a kind of “what’s happening” phase. More like an OMG THE WORLD IS ENDING WHAT THE HELL AM I SUPPOSED TO BE DOING. I guess that’s panic but I feel like this only happens cause I’m a dramatic person ^-^

Denial: The next stage of moving, I’d say, is denial. I think this is a pretty good thing and if people just denied they were moving the whole time things would turn out a lot better. I think this because if people deny the fact that they’re moving, they can at least enjoy the rest of their time rather than sulking and wasting it. Which leads us to the next phase.

Avoidance (is that a word): When I moved in 5th grade, I went through a phase where I basically started drifting away from my best friends. On purpose. From my side. I did this because I had some incredibly genius idea at the time that if I slowly drifted away from them and just avoided people in general, it would be easier to move. I can assure you that I really regretted doing that during the summer because I realized I had wasted so much of my time and just made the move worse.

Longing: This is the point in time where a person has just said most of their good-byes and realizes that they may never see these people again. Or that it would at least be a while before the next time they met up. This where the sadness and loneliness really starts to set in and the longing for those people starts happening. Your friends still really keep in touch with you.

Dread + Misery: Now the next school year is coming up in a month or so and you really start dreading it. You feel really bad for yourself and just drown in your own self-pity and misery. Your friends still talk to you a lot and constantly text you saying they miss you. This is the part where you binge-watch YouTube for support almost 5 hours a day =)

Eh: The school year has started and-at least for me- it’s not like you hate it or love it here. Your old friends don’t text you as often and you don’t really care about anything anymore. I guess if you didn’t make a few friends at your new school and if your life was miserable there, this stage would be more depressing….

Comfortable: This is around half-way through the new school year. At this point in time, it starts to get a little more comfortable. You and your old friends still text every now and then but it’s always the same routine of going:

“Howz life?” Good. hbu?” “Good” “k ttyl” “k bye”

That was literally the extent of my conversation with most of my old friends, except for a few who I would freak out over Phan with…

Happy: By the end of one school year, I usually feel pretty happy with the not so new place. It comes to a point where I don’t want to move from this new-ish place I’m at. (We usually still end up moving though ^-^. Aaannnd the stages start all over again 😂😂😂)

 

So ya (see I said it again 😂) hopefully this can help non-movers understand more what it’s like to move as a kid. It’s actually kind of a fun experience because wherever you go you have a “fresh start” and you can make yourself whoever you want to be! It’s also amazing to meet all these new people. Even though you do lose touch with a few of your old friends, the true ones will stay with you forever =). wHy dO I alWaYS HAvE TO BE SO FREAKING CHEESY!!! And also sorry these are always so long 😂 I’m working on it. I swear 😂😂😂

k byeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!

-Anna ❤


Meme of Da Day:

Screen Shot 2017-06-19 at 9.53.46 AM
That’s it. I’m dead 😂😂😂

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

